USC’s Williams, Alabama’s Anderson lead the AP All-America team

Heisman Trophy winner Caleb Williams was one of three Southern California players selected for The Associated Press’ All-America team, published Monday.

Offensive lineman Andrew Vorhees and defensive end Tuli Tuipulotu joined their quarterback to give USC more first-team players than any other school. The AP All-America team is introduced by Regions Bank.

Williams, who was named AP Player of the Year last week, became the eighth USC player to win the Heisman over the weekend after scoring 47 touchdowns this season and leading USC to the Pac-12 title game.

The Trojans also had center Brett Neilon and cornerback Mekhi Blackmon selected for the third team.

Alabama edge rusher Will Anderson Jr. was selected to the first team for the second straight season, along with Kansas State running back Deuce Vaughn, who made it as an all-around for the second straight season.

Joining Williams in the All-America First Team backfield are Texas running back Bijan Robinson and Michigan’s Blake Corum.

Michigan had also selected center Olusegun Oluwatimi and kicker Jake Moody for the second team.

The runner-up Wolverines will face TCU No. 3 in the semifinals of the College Football Playoffs on December 31 at the Fiesta Bowl. TCU quarterback Max Duggan and guard Steve Avila formed the second team.

Top-ranked Georgia put two players in first-team defense in tackle Jalen Carter and safety Christopher Smith. Tight end Brock Bowers and linebacker Jamon Dumas-Johnson were second-team selections.

The Bulldogs meet No. 4 Ohio State in the CFP Peach Bowl semifinals on New Year’s Eve. Wide receiver Marvin Harrison Jr. was Ohio State’s only All-American first-team, but the Buckeyes added four players to the second team: offensive tackles Paris Johnson Jr. and Dawand Jones, linebacker Tommy Eichenberg, and safety Ronnie Hickman.

First team breakdown/team

USC – 3rd

Georgia – 2nd

Notre Dame – 2

Texas, Northwest, Florida, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, Tennessee, Iowa, Kansas, North Carolina, Alabama, Pitt, Cincinnati, Iowa, Arkansas, Utah, Illinois, Miami, TCU, Michigan – 1

First team split/conference

Big Ten – 7th

SEC – 6

Big 12 – 4

Pac-12 – 4


Independents – 2nd

American Athletics – 1st



Quarterback – Caleb Williams, sophomore, Southern California.

Running backs – Bijan Robinson, third grader, Texas; Blake Corum, third year, Michigan.

Tackles – Peter Skoronski, third year, Northwestern; Joe Alt, sophomore, Notre Dame.

Guard – O’Cyrus Torrence, fourth year, Florida; Andrew Vorhees, sixth grader, Southern California.

Center – John Michael Schmitz, sixth grader, Minnesota.

Tight End – Michael Mayer, third year, Notre Dame.

Wide Receiver – Marvin Harrison Jr., sophomore, Ohio State; Jalin Hyatt, sophomore, Tennessee; Xavier Hutchinson, third grader, State of Iowa.

All-Around Player – Deuce Vaughn, third-year, Kansas State.

Kicker – Christopher Dunn, 5th grader, State of North Carolina.


Edge Rushers – Will Anderson Jr., third grader, Alabama; Tuli Tuipulotu, third year, Southern California.

Tackles – Jalen Carter, third year, Georgia; Calijah Kancey, fourth year, Pittsburgh.

Linebacker – Ivan Pace Jr., fourth year, Cincinnati; Jack Campbell, fourth grader, Iowa; Drew Sanders, third year, Arkansas.

Cornerbacks — Clark Phillips III, third-year, Utah; Devon Witherspoon, fourth grader, Illinois.

Collateral – Kamren Kinchen, sophomore, Miami; Christopher Smith, fifth grader, Georgia.

Defensive Back – Tre’Vius Hodges-Tomlinson, fourth year, TCU.

Punter – Bryce Baringer, sixth grader, Michigan State.



Quarterback – Max Duggan, fourth year, TCU.

Running backs – Chase Brown, fifth grader, Illinois; Mohamed Ibrahim, sixth grader, Minnesota.

Tackles — Paris Johnson Jr., third year, Ohio State; Dawand Jones, fourth grader, Ohio State.

Guards—Cooper Beebe, fourth year, State of Kansas; Steve Avila, fifth grader, TCU.

Center – Olusegun Oluwatimi, sixth grader, Michigan.

Tight End – Brock Bowers, sophomore year, Georgia.

Wide Receiver – Charlie Jones, sixth grader, Purdue; Rashee Rice, fourth year, SMU; Josh Downs, third grader, North Carolina.

All-Around Player – Zach Charbonnet, sophomore, UCLA.

Kicker – Jake Moody, fifth grader, Michigan.


Edge Rushers – Tyree Wilson, fifth-year Texas Tech; Isaiah Foskey, fourth year, Notre Dame.

Tackles – Jer’Zhan Newton, third grader, Illinois; Jonah Tavai, fifth grader, state of San Diego.

Linebacker – Tommy Eichenberg, fourth year, Ohio State; Jeremiah Trotter Jr., sophomore, Clemson; Jamon Dumas-Johnson, sophomore, Georgia.

Cornerbacks – Emmanuel Forbes, third grader, Mississippi; Joey Porter Jr., fourth grader, Penn State.

Collateral—Kaevon Merriweather, fifth year, Iowa; Ronnie Hickman, fourth grader, Ohio State.

Defensive Back – Brian Branch, third year, Alabama.

Punter – Tory Taylor, third year, Iowa.



Quarterback – Hendon Hooker, sophomore, Tennessee.

Running backs – DeWayne McBride, third year, UAB; Israel Abanikanda, third year; Pittsburgh.

Tackles – Blake Freeland, fourth year, BYU; Alex Palczewski, sixth grader, Illinois

Guards—Jaxson Kirkland, sixth grader, Washington; Christian Haynes, fourth grader, Connecticut.

Center – Brett Neilon, sixth grader, Southern California.

Tight End – Dalton Kincaid, 5th graders, Utah.

wide receiver – Nathaniel Dell, fifth grader, Houston; Rome Odunze, third year, Washington; Zay Flowers, fourth year, Boston College.

All-Around Player – Jahmyr Gibbs, third grader, Alabama.

Kicker – Joshua Karty, third grader, Stanford.


Edge Rushers – Felix Anudike-Uzomah, third grader, State of Kansas; Jose Ramirez, fifth grader, eastern Michigan.

Tackles — Dontay Corleone, sophomore, Cincinnati; Mekhi Wingo, LSU sophomore.

Linebacker – Jason Henderson, two years old, Old Dominion; Nick Herbig, third year, Wisconsin; Jaylan Ford, third year, Texas.

Cornerbacks – Kool-Aid McKinstry, sophomore, Alabama; Mekhi Blackmon, fifth grader, Southern California.

Collateral — Marcus Fuqua, fourth-grader, Buffalo; Jordan Battle, fourth year, Alabama.

Defensive Back – Quinyon Mitchell, third year, Toledo.

Punter – Mason Fletcher, sophomore, Cincinnati.


Selection Panel: Ryan Aber, The Oklahoman; Nathan Baird,; Mike Berardino, South Bend Tribune; Ryan Thorburn, Casper Star-Tribune; Sam McKewon, Omaha World Herald; Dave Reardon, Honolulu Star Advertiser; Robert Cessna, Bryan College Station Eagle; Bob Asmussen, The News Gazette (illustrated); Damien Sordelett, ; Garland Gillen, WVUE-TV (La.); Kayla Anderson, WKRN-TV (Tennessee); Kirk Bohls, Austin-based American statesman; Johnny McGonigal,; Matt Brown, the athlete; Matt Baker, Tampa Bay Times; Adam Grosbar, Southern California News Group; Nate Mink, Syracuse Media Group; Josh Furlong, (Utah).


AP College Football: and Sign up for AP’s college football newsletter:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *